QUIZ Admin
February 1, 2017

GS Test-8-Indian Polity-Union and Its Territory

Welcome to your General Studies Daily Test-8-Union and Its Territory



Phone Number

1) Which of the following statements is correct?
2) By which one of the following Constitutional Amendments Delhi has become National Capital Region (NCR)?
3) Which Commission made the recommendations which formed the basis for the Punjab Reorganisation Act, which created the states Punjab and Haryana?
4) Under Article 3, which power does the Parliament have in relation to the formation of a new state?
1.It can increase the area of any state.
2.It cannot diminish the area of any state.
3.It can alter the name of any state.
Select the correct answer using the codes given below
5) Which one of the following does not come under the power of the Parliament with regard to States?
6) ‘Uttarakhand’ State came into existence on
7) Andhra Pradesh was created as a linguistic state in
8) Which one of the following is the correct chronological order of the formation of the following States as full States of the Indian Union?
9) Consider the following statements and state which of them is / are correct with the help of given codes
1.The term ‘Union of States’ has been used in the Constitution because Indian States have no right to recede.
2.The SK Dhar Commission preferred reorganisation of States on administrative convenience rather than on linguistic basis.
3.The Congress Committee under Pt. Nehru, Sardar Patel and Pattabhi Sitaramayya did not favour linguistic basis for reorganisation of states.
10) The following States were created after 1960. Arrange them in ascending chronological order of their formation and choose your answer from the given codes
1. Haryana 2. Sikkim 3. Nagaland 4. Meghalaya
11) Consider the following statements The creation of a new State in India from an existing State involves the consent of the
1.Supreme Court.
2.Legislature of the State concerned.
12) The States of the Indian Union can be re-organised or their boundaries altered by
13) The Parliament can establish a new State in the Union by
14) Article 1 of the Constitution of India declares India as [SSC 2006]
15) What is the correct chronological order in which the following States of the Indian Union were created or granted full statehood?
1.Andhra Pradesh 2.Maharashtra 3.Nagaland 4.Haryana
Select the correct answer using the codes given below
16) The old name of which State/Union Territory is wrongly given?
17) Which of the following statements is/are correct?
1.The territory of the units of the Indian Federation may be altered by the Parliament by a simple majority.
2.The consent of a State Legislature is necessary before the Parliament on redistributes its territory.
3.The President’s recommendation is necessary for introducing the Bill in the Parliament on redistributing territory of any State.
4.The President must receive the State’s opinion before recommending a Bill on altering the name of the State.
18) According to Article 1, the territory of India consists of
19) Which one of the following is not correctly matched?
State Year of Creation
20) The Union of India consists of
2.Union Territories
3.Acquired Territories
21) Consider the following statements :
1.In India only two Union Territories have Legislative Assemblies.
2.Mizoram, Nagaland and Meghalaya, the three North-Eastern States of India, have only one seat each in the Lok Sabha.
Which of the statement(s) given above is/are correct?
22) Which Article of the Constitution allows the centre to form new states?
23) The power to curve out a new State is vested in
24) Haryana State was formed on November 1st, 1966 on the recommendation of [HPSC 2012]
25) Which of the following does not give correctly the name of the original state out of whose territory the new state was created?
26) Among the following States, which one was formed last?
27) The Constitution of India describe India as
28) Which of the following was ceded by the French to India?
29) Which of the following is not correctly matched?
UT Executive
30) Sikkim was made an integral part of India under the

0 Comment on this Article

Add a comment

Skip to toolbar